word naturalization.

When I started to write something in English, I noticed that I write it differently from what I used to write in my native language. For example, I used to put adverbs in the wrong places in my first try. Usually, I change the positions of adverbs, or sequence of clauses, after re-reading my own writing.

Of course, once the subject that I am trying to write about is not well clear in my brain, definitely, I need to massage to get it prepared. However, even if I know what I am about to write, yet I need to move things around, which may not happen in my native language. For a long time, I was thinking what is the difference. Why in the first place I did not use the desired sequence? Now that I am learning French, I am about to find an answer (at least partially) to this question.

My understanding is that words are not equally weighted in my brain. Some words have been used more frequently, or for some reason, some words are easier to remember. Those words then will pop out first, and that is why I need to re-arrange them after my first writing. This problem is more clear in speaking, where we need to rephrase what we just said. One way to improve is to practice more words in different context to get used to them such that there will be no preferences in  one word or the other. I would like to call this process, as a word naturalization process.

Listening, reading, writing, and speaking is of course is canonical way of approaching this problem. More importantly, I believe we need to practice a new language with those matrials which would involve our emotions. Since then we get feeling about the words as well, which would help to naturalize those words.

Leave a comment